Be a Rockstar: Michele Week 1.


Technical difficulties today so hopefully Michele’s week 1 write up is enough to keep you entertained…

I’ve known for a few weeks that I was on deck to be the next Rockstar of A Healthy Balance. I have told all of my friends, family and coworkers and I’ve hinted on Facebook that something life-changing was going to be happening to me. I could not wait to start.

In preparation, I went to the sporting goods store to stock up on yoga pants, tees and a water bottle. I even changed the shoe laces in my Nikes. I am ready! I counted the minutes for work to end, changed my clothes and raced over to meet Alicia for my preliminary weigh-in and all-over body measurements. I was then told that there was going to be a fitness test?! What’s that all about? It’s only five minutes long; I can handle that! How hard can it be to do a few sit ups and push ups? I will ace this test.

Oh boy. There were three components to this fitness test and I scored “good,” “poor” and “very poor.” That is not exactly what I would call an ace! The reason I am here to do this program is because I am unfit and unhealthy and that fact was swiftly proven. I wasn’t exactly surprised as I sound like the bride of Darth Vader walking from the office parking garage to the third floor on a daily basis, but to actually see those scores in writing takes my motivation to a whole new level… from 100% to 110%. I am going to do this! I am determined to have better scores when I redo this same fitness test in 12 weeks.

I met with Kara, the dietitian, and she gave me healthy eating guidelines and tips. I left her office and zoomed to the grocery store for protein filled snacks and healthy meal options. I am planning my meals and I have been logging everything I eat on My Fitness Pal. Nothing goes into my mouth that I don’t want Alicia and Kara to see when they login to check my status. There are certain things that I am confident I will never eat again! A chocolate martini has almost 500 calories. Who knew?!

I’ve read and reread the blog of the prior Rockstar Kathleen and I’m in awe over her determination and success and I am eager to do the same. My husband Dru can confirm my motivation as he has witnessed me doing crunches in bed at 3:00am when I could not sleep. Bring it on!

 

Be Healthy. Be Balanced.

www.AHealthyBalanceInc.com

5 Comments

Filed under AHB Rockstars

5 responses to “Be a Rockstar: Michele Week 1.

  1. I love that you were doing crunches when you couldn’t sleep! Smart use of time. 🙂

  2. Michele Errico

    Thanks! I’ve done all kinds of “weird” zumba moves, squats, planks, etc. where I shouldn’t be — in bed, while washing dishes, driving my car (not planks!) My new moves are entertaining my family, I’m sure!

  3. Cheering you on!!! You are an inspiration!

  4. Michele Errico

    You guys are the best. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

