Be a Rope Jumper.


Rocky Balboa was on to something when he incorporated jumping rope into his workout routine. Honestly, when is the last time you jumped rope? Thinking back to my childhood, I remember jumping rope as a fun game my friends and I used to sing songs to, but now its a great addition to my workouts and usually at the end I’m breathing so heavy that I couldn’t possibly sing a song.

Jumping rope incorporates nearly every area of fitness including cardiovascular endurance, muscle strength, and agility. And, it’s relatively cheap and you don’t need a lot of space or fancy equipment to do it. As you get better and your jumping skills and fitness improve there are several variations you can add for a greater challenge and to keep things interesting. Go to http://library.thinkquest.org/5407/skills.html for some ideas. And don’t forget to have fun!

 

Be Healthy. Be Balanced.

-Alicia and Nikki

2 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Wellness

2 responses to “Be a Rope Jumper.

  1. I recently saw a jump rope program in Oxygen magazine and decided to give it a try. I was thinking of something to do to wake me up before I start my morning routine so I decided to give this program a try. In a month I should be able to jump rope for 20 minutes. I was also looking for more info on rope jumping. I checked the site you posted, I wonder if I will get to the leg over cross hmmm!

Leave a Reply

